Jun 23, 2015 Return to Headlines

Artists Selected for Coquitlam Evergreen Line Stations

by Kevin Henkelman |

COQUITLAM, BC, Monday, June 22, 2015 – The aesthetic appeal of Coquitlam’s Evergreen Line stations will be enhanced thanks to the addition of public art.

In April 2013, a Coquitlam Evergreen Line Public Art Task Force was created to help select qualified artists and projects for the four Coquitlam stations along the Evergreen Line.

Following a Request for Information and Qualification process in early 2014, 57 entries were received from artists around the world. The Task Force then created a shortlist through a jury process of 20 shortlisted candidates, who were then asked to create proposals.

As a result, 10 British Columbia artists have been selected to complete eleven pieces of public art.

The following artists were selected for each of the stations:

  • Mia Weinberg - Burquitlam Station
  • Brent Bukowski - Burquitlam Station
  • Paul Reimer - Coquitlam Central Station
  • Paul Slipper & Mary Ann Liu - Lincoln Station
  • Bruce Walther & YarOn Stern - Lincoln Station
  • Trent Hutton Lafarge Lake - Douglas Station
  • Jarami Reid and Dean Cloutier Lafarge Lake - Douglas Station

(See attached backgrounder for a full list of artists and project descriptions.)

The Provincial Evergreen Line project budget allocated $75,000 per station to provide public art either within the stations or on the station plazas.

The City of Coquitlam will continue to work closely with the artists and the Evergreen Line project team to smoothly integrate the artwork into the station designs and project planning.

The final artwork is expected to be unveiled during the official opening of the Evergreen Line project in 2016.

For more information on the Evergreen Line project, visit coquitlam.ca/evergreenline or visit the Evergreen Line project page at evergreenline.gov.bc.ca.


Media contact:
Karen Basi
Cultural Services Manager